Jun 16, 1988


KUWAIT, JUNE 14 (FANA) -- The six Gulf Cooperation Council States and the 12 European Economic Community members will Wednesday sign an agreement in Brussels on economic and technological cooperation, the Kuwaiti Daily Al-Anba’a said Tuesday.

The draft agreement, which was reached in the consultations of last March 25, calls for transfer of technology and protection of investments, the paper said.

GCC Secretary General Abdalla Bishara and the Saudi Foreign Minister Prince Saud Al-Faisal will sign for the GCC while the current EEC President and Foreign Minister of West Germany Hans Dietrich Genscher and the Community’s Commissioner Claude Cheysson will sign for the EEC.

The GCC groups Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, Qatar and the Sultanate of Oman.

Al-Anba’a said the two sides will hold talks during their presence in the Dutch capital at the Foreign Ministers level to discuss issues of mutual interest and that the Iraq-Iran war will head the list of priorities.